29 September, 6 and 13 October 2017

The next Starry Night Concert will evolve around two extremes: early and contemporary music. Despite the obvious opposition in terms of the period and style of creation, the “pole star” of all composers from both these periods is undoubtedly expression – the will to express with sound what cannot be expressed with words. The programme features harpsichord compositions of Marcin Tadeusz Łukaszewski and Tomasz Kamieniak dedicated to Aleksandra Gajecka-Antosiewicz. During the concert, we will hear the first performance of Constellations of the Northern Sky inspired by stars of the Northern Sky, transferred onto the staff and turned into musical themes. Electronic sounds on tape inspired by cosmic dust will be created by Wojciech Błażejczyk. Above us we will have a distant and unreachable starry night. We need technology – starting with a telescope – to reach to the sky. Sometimes a moment of illumination is enough, or a beam of light, and maybe also a sound?


Aleksandra Gajecka-Antosiewcz – Constellations of the Northern Sky for piano and tape (first performance)
Tomasz Kamieniak – Prelude of the Suite op. 37 bis
Johann Sebastian Bach – Aria and wariacje No.1-5 of Wariacji Goldbergowskich BWV 988
Tomasz Kamieniak – Sarabanda from Suite op. 37 bis Marian Sawa – Rapsod Wolfgang
Amadeusz Mozart – Andante cantabile con espressione from Sonata in A minor KV 300
Marcin Tadeusz Łukaszewski – Concert études No. 5 and 6
Bronisław Kazimierz Przybylski – Les Tournesols hommage à Vincent van Gogh François Couperin – Les Sentiments
Aleksandra Gajecka-Antosiewicz – piano
Wojciech Błażejczyk – live electromusic.

Aleksandra Gajecka-Antosiewicz – harpsichordist and pianist, graduate of the Grażyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Academy of Music in Łódź (class of professor Ewa Piasecka, in 1999, and class of professor Marek Drewnowski, in 2000) and Master studies at Mozarteum University in Salzburg (2001-2003) under the supervision of an outstanding harpsichordist professor Elżbieta Chojnacka, who deemed A. Gajecką-Antosiewicz her successor. In 2011-2014 she completed her Ph.D. studies in Łódź and obtained her degree with the first Polish doctoral thesis on performance of contemporary harpsichord music (“Technical and expressional aspects in selected harpsichord works of contemporary Polish composers”, supervisor: professor Ewa Piasecka) and the title of doctor of musical arts (2015). She received scholarships from many international schools and festivals, in Germany, Norway and Great Britain. She developed her musical skills while working with many artists, including: Elżbieta Stefańska, Leszek Kędracki, Czesław Stańczyk, Colin Tilney, Mark Kroll and Ketil Haugsand. Laureate of the Special Prize of the 5th International J. Hoffman and J. Paderewski Pianist Competition in Nałęczów (series in concerts in France) and an award for artistic achievements and culture promotion and protection granted by the Mayor of the City of Tarnowskie Góry (2013).