5, 12, 19, 26 May 2017

The programme of the next Starry Night Concert will comprise two musical forces: nocturne and toccata. The former can be translated simply as the “nocturnal”, and it would be indeed hard to find music that reflects melancholic and dreamy ambience of the night more accurately. For some balance and dynamics — or even some storms among the stars — there will be evolutionary toccatas, which in their essence strive to intensify the musical flow. What will the night bring? Come and find out at the concert for which pianist Marcin Tadeusz Łukaszewski has chosen not only pieces composed in the 19th and 20th century but also pieces created more recently by various young composers.

The concert programme includes:

Piotr Gryska – Toccata (2015)
Fryderyk Chopin – Nocturn in B-flat minor, Op. 9, No. 1
Stanisław Moniuszko – Nocturn As-flat major
Ignacy Jan Paderewski – Nocturn B-flat major op. 14
Aleksandra Włodarczyk – Nocturn. Hommage à Chopin (2017)
Jakub Szafrański – Toccata Hoffata (2017) first performance
Aleksander Jan Szopa – Nocturn II (2017)
Arthur Guzik – Nokturn c-moll “Night – Day” Nocturne (2017);
Tomasz Kamieniak – Le Soir. Nocturne op. 65 (2016) first performance
Paweł Chmielnicki – Notturno (2016) first performance
Paweł Chmielnicki – Toccata (2017) first performance

Marcin Tadeusz Łukaszewski – born in 1972 in Częstochowa, Polish pianist, composer and music theorist. Graduated from the class of Professor Bronisława Kawalla, Professor Jan Ekier and Professor Edward Wolanin at The Frederic Chopin University of Music. After graduation he continued his education at postgraduate level, then in 2005 became Doctor of Arts and in 2014 obtained a postdoctoral degree in the field of composition and music theory. He continues to teach at his alma mater, at the same time actively performing as a piano soloist and a chamber musician. His research and performing interests concentrate around Polish piano music of the 20th and 21st century. He is the laureate of numerous competitions, the author of many publications and recordings devoted to Polish composers such as Franciszek Lessel, Piotr Perkowski and Marian Sawa.